Why I write

I can easily spend a full day writing…and enjoy every minute of it. Time has no meaning when I’m creating a fictional world, making my characters fall in love or killing them off. My husband, though very supportive of my writing, just doesn’t seem to get how I can get pleasure out of staring in front of my computer screen all day. He often reminds me of how horrible it was when he had to write long papers for grad school and how much he dreaded it. He just doesn’t quite get the concept of writing for fun.

When I was little, I wanted to be a vet. I wanted to save animals and make a difference in the world. Being a professional write never crossed my mind. I loved imagining myself as a vet, owning my own practice and running a horse rescue on the side (‘cuz that’s so easy…). I would spend hours drawing up blue prints of my future barn, creating fiction horses to doodle inside my poorly drawn stalls.

I focused so much on my dream world I lost touch with reality. Not in an ‘I went crazy’ sort of way, but in a ‘I didn’t concentrate in school’ sort of way. I got bad grades on tests, forgot to do homework and daydreamed my time away in class. I wasn’t trying to b defiant. I didn’t want to be a bad kid. I just couldn’t help it. I had all these ideas and thoughts and plans and stories in my head. They were consuming, they were fun, and they offered relief from my angst filled childhood. It wasn’t until I was in middle school I realized I could write these domineering thoughts on paper. It was such an empowering feeling to see my ideas take shape. I could create anything I wanted and I loved it. I kept my ‘stories’ private, afraid that -gasp!- someone might read it and not like it. Nevertheless, it offered me an escape.

I love to read for the same reasons I love to write: the possibilities are endless. You never know what could happen and really, anything could. I like to write because I like to daydream, to always wonder ‘what if…’ I love creating character that I (pathetically, maybe) get attached to. I like shocking twists and surprising ending. I like to keep people guessing.

So, really, I think it’s simple. I write because I love to.

Leave a comment